THE TROOPS OF DOOM- A Mass To The Grotesque – Release: 31.05.24 – Genre: Death Metal

This Friday, on May 31, 2024, Brazilian death metal extremes THE TROOPS OF DOOM will celebrate the release of their much-awaited, new studio album “A Mass To The Grotesque” via Alma Mater Records, the Portuguese label run by MOONSPELL singer Fernando Ribeiro

THE TROOPS OF DOOM was formed in 2020, during the pandemic, by the original SEPULTURA guitarist Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz. He recorded the albums “Bestial Devastation” (1985) and “Morbid Visions” (1986). Jairo left the band in 1987, making way for Andreas Kisser, who continues with the band to this day. THE TROOPS OF DOOM’s lineup also includes other significant figures from the Brazilian metal scene, such as guitarist Marcelo Vasco (Patria, Mysteriis), a globally renowned graphic artist known for his work with bands like Slayer, Dee Snider, Kreator, Machine Head, Soulfly, and many others. The vocalist and bassist Alex Kafer, former live guitarist for Matanza, and drummer Alexandre Oliveira, a former member of the band Tianastácia, complete the lineup.

Acclaimed by specialized media as a supergroup, THE TROOPS OF DOOM emerged to revive the classic Death Metal of the 80s, inspired by Sepultura’s early era with Jairo and other influential bands such as Slayer, Celtic Frost, Kreator, and Possessed. It serves as a time machine for those nostalgic for the golden age of Death Metal. In just two years since its formation, the band has released three EPs: “The Rise of Heresy” (2020), “The Absence of Light” (2021), and “Prelude to Blasphemy” (2023), along with their debut album, “Antichrist Reborn”, that was released in 2022 on CD, LP, and Cassette by Alma Mater Records and lauded by both fans and music press alike.

The band is currently gearing up for the release of their highly anticipated second album, “A Mass To The Grotesque”, produced by André Moraes, a multi-talented musician known for his work on Sepultura’s “Dante XXI” and the soundtrack of the film “Lisbela e o Prisioneiro,” at Audio Porto studio in Porto Alegre/RS. The mixing and mastering of the album were done by Jim Morris at the legendary Morrisound Recording in Tampa, Florida, known for producing some of the greatest Death Metal classics of the 80s and 90s. The cover art was painted by the acclaimed artist Dan Seagrave, responsible for numerous iconic Death Metal album covers.

THE TROOPS OF DOOM who have just headlined the Waves stage at the Brazilian edition of the German festival Summer Breeze, will embark on their first-ever European Tour in August! Find all upcoming live dates listed below, and make sure to grab your copy of this must-have album!

Stream the album on spotify:

01. Solve Et Coagula – Introduction

02. Chapels Of The Unholy

03. Dawn of Mephisto

04. Denied Divinity

05. The Impostor King

06. Faithless Requiem

07. Psalm 78 – God of Bizarre

08. Terror Inheritance

09. The Grotesque

10. Blood Upon The Throne

11. Venomous Creed

For More Info Visit:


02.08 Cottbus (D) @Muggefug 

03.08 Nuremberg (D) @Straßenfest 

04.08 Berlin (D) @Maschinenhaus

05.08 Bamberg (D) @Live Club 

06.08 Halle (D) @ Reil 74 

07.08 The Hague (NL) @Musicon 

08.08 Breda (NL) @Sound Dog

09.08 Doetinchen (NL) @Engelenbak 

10.08 Wermelskirchen (D) @AJZ 

11.08 Hamburg (D) @Indra

12.08 Charleroi (B) @MCP Apache

14.08 Kassel (D) @Goldgrube

15.08 Sosnowiec (PL) @M. Doctrine 

23.08 Almeria (ES) @The Time Club 

24.08 Madrid (ES) @Revi Live 

25.08 Milagres (P) @Milagre Metaleiro


Alex Kafer (vocals and bass)

Jairo „Tormentor“ Guedz (guitar)

Marcelo Vasco (guitar)

Alexandre Oliveira (drums)